Optimist Blues

I dabble in Beat Poetry. It’s my favourite, aside from Poe and Thomas Hardy, and I had written this one some years ago. So I present here:

Optimist Blues by Joslyn Corvis

The thought of Coffee started me awake.
Black
Like the darkness enveloping my room.
A sudden thought—–The Coffee Shop!
To get my Coffee fix
I dress
Black Shirt
Black Skirt
Black Shoes
The white of my socks tainting the black of my clothes
Like liquid cream tainting the taste of
Black Coffee
I pass my own building, the corner store, the post office, the thrift store. And the sky is . . .
Black
With stars still sprinkled in the Black sky
Glistening like the dim lights from my favourite booth shining into my cup of Coffee . . .
Which I like
Black
I imagine the flavour growing stronger the closer I get, but when I am close enough to make my mouth water with the uncontrollable craving for
Black Coffee
I realise something.

The Coffee Shop is closed.
I never liked Coffee much, anyway.
Black.

Leave a Reply

