The Excitement of Autumn!

I haven’t written in a while.  At least, not on my blog.  This is actually my first diary entry on my blog site!  But I’ve been busy with some pieces for anthologies and the like, not to mention a horrendous toothache!  One the size of Texas!

And it seems that the toothache came at the worst possible time!  I love Autumn, and just stepping outside in the cool breeze and seeing the leaves glimmer in the golden sun just has a magickal effect on me!  There’s all of this talk about Halloween specials on the telly, and I just love browsing the costume isles.  But what I really love?  Taking walks in the beautiful Autumn weather!  And as soon as this tooth is fixed, that’s exactly what I plan to do!  I’m not able to enjoy the season to its fullest extent, and even though I may not walk all year ’round, this is the time of year that I usually get back into the routine!  I used to go out, admire the Halloween decorations, and every Thursday (or was it Tuesday?) I glued myself to the TV when Reaper came on.  That was in the very first season, and it is hands-down one of my favourite shows ever!  And I’d save my stash of YooHoos for that very occasion.  Sometimes I’d just walk to the store to see what new Halloween merchandise they had, if any, or pine over something every time I’d go.  And now, because of this toothache, I can’t.  It’s more that I won’t, because I’m afraid I’ll end up hurting it worse when I have the pain at bay.

At the moment, I’m trying to think of a really scary story.  Something scarier than my kid-friendly horror.  But, I’m at a loss.  I don’t know if I can pull it off!  I think of all of my own Halloween and horror favourites, and you just can’t replicate the feel of Bram Stoker’s Dracula, or Washington Irving’s Sleepy Hollow.  Or Dan Dillard’s The Diary of Ethan Jacobs.  It just can’t be done!  And when I take my walks, that’s what I focus on.  I think about what I want to write about.  What moves me, what scares me.  And with some of the other projects taking my time, it’s hard to do that.  Not to mention this toothache that’s been dragging me down, forcing me to take ibuprofin and strap an ice pack to my chin!

But I have faith that something will come to me, and I’m hoping it will be the creepiest story ever!

Leave a Reply

