HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! Bloody Mary: A True Nightmare . . . as told by Joslyn Corvis

http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/hub.1329368159.html

Reposted from October 24, 2010

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!!! Bloody Mary: A True Nightmare . . . as told by Joslyn Corvis 

It was quite some years ago. I would say I was around thirteen or fourteen at the time. And it was the stupidest thing I have ever done. Well, scratch that; it was one of the stupidest things I’ve ever done. To tamper with the supernatural is one bad idea.

My nephew was a few years younger than myself, but we got along really well. At times we did, anyway. We were like siblings. One minute we were cool, the next we were fighting like a ninja monkey and a pit bull. If a ninja monkey and a pit bull in battle doesn’t paint a vivid enough picture, I don’t know what will. But all in all, we were best buds. We were tight.

We decided to go into the bathroom, turn out the lights, and say “Bloody Mary” three times in the mirror. It was pitch-black in there. You couldn’t see your hand in front of your face if you squinted and strained your eyes. So, me being the idiotic leader, said it. I can’t remember if he refused and dared me to, or if I took it upon myself. “Nothing’s gonna happen,” I remember thinking, and probably said it out loud. I just didn’t believe in anything so stupid.

“Bloody Mary, Bloody Mary…” I said, and I said it thrice, but I am too afraid to type it three times in a row. As I said the very last syllable of her name, I think I squealed and I just remember immediately flipping the light on. I just got way too scared. And nothing happened. Not in the very least!

Nothing came out of the mirror, nothing tried to grab me in the darkness, and nothing came up from any of the drains. It was silly and stupid.

Fast-forward a few days later. My nephews and niece had already gone home from their weekend stay. I was brushing my teeth in the same bathroom. I looked in the mirror and thought nothing of it. I had completely forgotten about the stupid little summoning ritual.

After checking my teeth in the mirror, I turned out the light and opened the bathroom door to leave. I swear, as soon as I opened that door, something flew at me. For years, I described it as a headless bat. I didn’t get to see it well because it swooped over me and I fell to my knees, cowering down. It came right toward my face, and that’s all I saw before falling to avoid it. A black, solid shadow. That’s why, for so many years, I said it was a headless bat. I could make out no features and though things get distorted through time, It seems that I might have seen a sort of stump where it’s head should have been.

The scary thing was that I didn’t only see it, but as it flew down, I heard it. Its wings flapped right over me and almost instantly it was gone! At first I thought it had flown into the bathroom, which it did, but it was just gone!

Now let’s fast-forward again to a few days later at school.

I was sitting there with friends. Something black flew at me, and it looked so much like the thing I saw in the bathroom. I fell to my knees, just as I had in the bathroom, and I screamed bloody murder! I was frantic! I mean, it was right there and I saw it again! But this time, everyone was around me. I didn’t have time to think, but I was just terrified.

I regained a little composure when I noticed that it was a sock someone had thrown at me. A trouser sock, which, when thrown, can look a little like a headless bat creature. I got picked on all the time, and this stupid group of boys thought it would be funny, for whatever reason, to throw a stupid sock at me!

Even worse, the vice principal walked right by and gave me the meanest glare. Couldn’t she tell I was scared? How could she not?!? I was frantic! I sheepishly said, “They’re throwing stuff at me,” because I didn’t want to say, “I thought it was the headless bat that tried to attack me in the bathroom the other day!” I almost said that I thought it was a bat as it flew at me, but it took me a while to even get the words out that they’d thrown it at me. I’m still really irked because the VP just looked at me as if I were some sorta freak, and she had no idea about the horror I had experienced! And she didn’t even reprimand those boys for picking on me!

But who would believe me about what I had seen?

And among you, dear readers, I wonder who out there believes me as I write this, or is chalking it up to another spooky Bloody Mary tale. But I can say that I saw something and I heard … something. What that something was, I may never know. I can only guess as to what it was. How did I see and hear it if it wasn’t there? How did it just disappear? Something that size, about a foot long (like a trouser sock in flight), would not have gone unnoticed if it had been trapped in the bathroom. It was one of the scariest, most puzzling things I have ever experienced. And it really makes you question your sanity!

So with that, I bid you all the Happiest of Halloweens!

Leave a Reply

