Psy Vamp Terror…based on true events

Sure, we’re all familiar with the blood sucking vampires of pop culture, and how can I leave out the shiny love-struck type? But unless you’re hardcore into the supernatural, there is a type that you may not be aware of. The psychic vampire. And they are every bit as scary as the blood suckers, but not quite as scary as the teen-angsty kind. Then again, what is?

I’ve had experiences with what I believe to be psychic vampires (a.k.a. Energy Suckers or Life Suckers), and in general mundane chat, my friends complain to me of people who make them feel lifeless, and in the instances where I tell them about psychic vamps, they get that “You hit the nail on the head!” look on their faces. PsyVamps are the kind of people you go out of your way to avoid. The pop up at your work cubicle and invite you out to lunch, but you kindly decline, explaining you just have way too much work to catch up on as you frantically try to close out your game of Solitaire but the computer is so old it freezes on the screen. Or it’s Girl’s Night Out and everyone is having a great time until this person shows up and suddenly, everyone wants to call it a night. You feel guilty for constantly giving them the brush off so you make plans with them, only to regret it as soon as soon as you get into their car feeling like a trapped rabbit, knowing this lunch date isn’t going to be quick and painless. But there is a difference between people we just plain don’t like and and actual psychic vampires. And just because someone exhibits the signs, it does not make them a psychic vampire, either.

“But Joslyn,” I hear you saying. “How can I tell if someone is a true PsyVamp, or if they’re just simply annoying?” Great question! Well, it’s very simple really. We all have someone we just don’t “mesh” with and maybe even try to break away from if we can. That’s normal. So to illustrate, I will use the stereotypical annoying person personality profile. Hmm…I think I just might fit into this category.

Annoying people are generally kind, good-hearted and high-spirited. They might laugh at all of their own jokes while everyone else feigns a giggle. They fancy themselves to be the life of the party. When you’re having a good time, everyone walks away but the annoying person will usually follow. They can be a bit know-it-all and one-up you, and you cringe just being near them. And they often provide everyone with a good laugh at their expense. But the psychic vampire differs in a few aspects.

A psychic vampire is generally depressing to be around, but do not necessarily suffer from depression. There are various types of depression, from a chemical imbalance to hitting a rough patch on the road of life. I’ve known people who are depressed and have had my own experiences with it myself. The difference between a person suffering with depression is that you don’t feel depressed when you’re around them. A psychic vampire, on the other hand, will make you feel depressed when they’re near you, even for a few minutes, and they don’t even have to say a word to accomplish it. They are very negative, tend to complain about everything, and they’re often selfish. They rarely do anything for others without personal gain. They are needy and jealous in relationships which can wear upon the object of their friendship or affection. They might cause you high stress levels. And when they enter a room, everyone else gravitates to the other side because a PV normally exudes a type of aura. You may not be able to see it, but you can definitely feel it. But the psychic vampire, being a bit anti-social, will usually sit by themselves unlike your average everyday annoying person. Like annoying people, they might also be know-it-alls, one-up you, and are just generally hard to talk to. PV’s never have anything positive to say about anything or anyone, and their negativity drains the energy of those around them. It’s almost as if they enjoy complaining. Some of them won’t let you get a word in edgewise, and you’re forced to listen to them for hours. Because their own energy level seems to be running on empty (and when I say “energy” I’m not talking about being active, but rather about one’s “Qi”), they must feed off of others to thrive, rendering the victims lethargic. Now, being that PV’s are often anti-social, they might want to be the center of attention but rather feel they have to be around people in order to feed. There are exceptions to every rule, of course. In some cases, PV’s are very low-key until they get into a group of people when they liven up. But the main way to tell a PsyVamp is not how they act or what they say, but rather by how they make others feel in their presence. The effect is particularly noticeable when a PV feeds off of a normally happy, high-energy person who suddenly stops laughing or becomes more serious, or when it is noticed by several people.

Dealing with PsyVamps is difficult. If you’re proud of a project you’ve been working on and you’ve gotten some really great feedback, they burst your bubble by some snide little comment. When you’re talking to one of those obnoxious non-PV “I know everything” people, you might just roll your eyes, but with a psyvamp, it might make you feel more frustration than vexation. You can’t talk about anything around them without being on your guard because the most innocent conversations can turn into interrogations. But the biggest thing that I have noticed is that unshakable dark cloud feeling that rolls in with them and causes a downpour on everyone’s parade. When you’re in their presence, you may notice a shift in your own mood. People get confused when I try to explain “energy” to them in this scenario. A psychic vampire has no “Qi” energy and has to feed of of yours. In doing so they drain your own “physical” energy leading to that Oh So familiar “drained” feeling of physical and mental exhaustion. After two minutes with them, you might feel like you’ve been doing hours of construction work while trying to figure out one of Einstein’s mathematical equations. You may also notice that this person isn’t just having an effect on you, but everyone else. You know those people that never say a negative word about anyone? Well, even they find it hard not to complain about a PsyVamp.  If you were a balloon, you’d be completely deflated by the time a PsyVamp is done with you.

Know anyone like that? Well, you’re in good company! And the thing is, most psychic vampires don’t realize they’re even doing it. They’re just average people going about their daily routine. For the most part, a PsyVamp feeds off of anyone and everyone he or she comes into contact with. And yet again, there are exceptions. Sometimes, the victims of PV attacks are chosen a little more carefully. Some PV’s feed off of those closest to them. Their spouses, their children, maybe a son or daughter-in-law or even a school bully feeding off of a certain kid or kids. Verbal abuse is highly characteristic of a pyschic vampire. By bringing down another’s self-worth, they are able to take it in for themselves. They might even seem satisfied after succeeding in bringing you down. My own opinion of this is that when you don’t allow it to affect you, there is no energy for them to take from you, and that’s why they leave you alone. It isn’t always that easy because some of them won’t quit until they have eaten away, so to speak, at your very core until there’s nothing left. Be wary, as prolonged exposure to a PsyVamp may actually begin to skew your own perception into a negative reality. They bring you down, man. They just bring you down!

And then there are the PsyVamps that know exactly what they’re doing. Some are even some skilled at OBE’s and use those Out-of-Body experiences to feed upon someone in that vulnerable state of sleep. Theoretically, sleeping and even daydreaming are the times when the mind is more prone to an attack because your mind is in a relaxed state, making it easier for this type of vampire to feed.

All over the world, there are cases of Old Hag Syndrome. Generally, it is the same. Sleep paralysis followed by a crushing pressure on the chest and usually sensing a presence in the room with you or maybe even seeing the face of an old hag and even the hot, putrid breath in your face. Some people see alienoid creatures, dark shadows, or even a person (familiar or a stranger), and scores of other things in the corner of the room or pinning them down, accounting for the feeling of someone sitting on their chests. It is thought that we see what our own culture has popularized, and that it is perhaps a figment of the imagination in the natural occurrence of sleep paralysis. I do believe there is a percentage of sleep paralysis that is natural. I’ve had it quite a few times myself and at first it was scary. Now it doesn’t bother me that much, but to not be able to move, speak or even scream for help is frightening. And with panic can come hallucinations. However, there is a line of thought that blames creatures for sleep paralysis and loss of energy, claiming that whatever guise they assume, it is the work of a psychic vampire. Many people who are chronic sufferers of sleep paralysis claim that when they wake up, they feel as if they haven’t slept a wink.

I’ve made a special note about the people I have classified as psychic vampires and try to stay away from them if I can help it. And if I can’t? Then all I need is a little time to prepare, preferably a few days so I can get in the zone. Now, you can’t really go around accusing people of this type of thing because there’s no way to know if psychic vampires really exist or not. However, it doesn’t hurt to protect yourself from someone you suspect to be a PV. I try to create a mental block to their negativity and/or personal attacks. Maybe crack a joke or completely ignore them by countering their remark with something positive. It’s my coping defense to reflect the bad Qi so it won’t eat at me. The biggest thing is to not let them bring you down with words, and by doing so, you can reserve your own energy. But once you feed them, they’ll come back for more. Think of it like a raccoon; if you keep your garbage secure, they’ll give up and start digging through the neighbor’s trash knowing they’re not going to get an easy meal.

And I’ve also found some rituals that seem to guard against psychic vampires. Wearing a crystal can help. Amethyst worn in a medicine bag or on a necklace might help, particularly if it is over your heart. This helps the person wearing it to become conscious of any attempt someone might make at getting at their heart and allows them to put up that mental barrier. And even just having crystals around that repel negativity can be a huge help. It’s like ritalin to a psychic vampire in that it seems to have an effect on them, but from a logical stance it may actually be that it has an effect on me and how I deal with them. In some cases it works like a cross to the Bela Lugosi types, because they can’t stand to be around the crystals for too long without feeling uncomfortable and wanting to leave. “Where might I find some crystals?” you ask? Well, you’re in luck because I’ve got connections. Amethyst, regular quartz, smoky quartz, just about any kind of quartz, and red jasper among so many others. I’ve got all kinds, not only because of their intrinsic beauty and aesthetic qualities, but because I find them to be helpful. And if someone is desperately in need of crystals for whatever purpose, please don’t hesitate to contact me and I will put you in contact with the person whom I buy mine from.

Something I have noticed about psychic vampires is that it seems they do not like the smell of sage. Sage to a PsyVamp is like garlic to a blood sucker. I realized this when I was around people I thought to be psychic vampires during sage smudging rituals. They had the same reaction as movie vampires had to garlic. The sneer, the gagging, the squeals of “Get that stuff away from me!” What is the significance of this? Well, sage is known and used for repelling bad energy. Coincidence? I don’t think so. I also have hookups for sage, and I definitely need to purchase some more pretty soon.

So, the next time you’re around someone you believe to be a psychic vampire, try those methods to protect yourself. Put up a mental guard so that any offense will roll right off, leavinng you untouched. Remind yourself that they are just trying to get to you, and that you’re not going to allow it. Wear crystals or carry them in your pocket. And last, but not least, smudge yourself with a sprig of sage if you’re going out with them. If they are planning to pop on over for a visit, do a smudging on the area where you normally entertain your guests. Heck, do the whole house if you feel it necessary. (Note: Sage and crystals may also work on those you don’t want to be around for too long and I’ve even heard cases where it is said to be effective against those with negative intentions toward a person.)

Maybe these people aren’t really psychic vampires. Maybe there’s no such thing as a PV, or any other type of vampire for that matter. Maybe they’re just negative and rub off on those around them, much like a positive person makes everyone happy with their mere presence. But if they do exist, I’m prepared. I have my crystals, my sage, and just in case I run into the blood sucking variety, they’ll think twice about taking a bite out of my juggular because I love pizza. And pizza sauce usually contains the Number One homeopathic vampire repellent. That’s right. Garlic! A slice a day keeps the vampires away!

7 Comments on “Psy Vamp Terror…based on true events”

  1. I find what you’re saying interesting, but I think one has to be careful not to go on witch hunts, if you know what I mean. Traumatized, upset and depressed people can be low energy and it’s a temporary condition, not a life-time designation – it’s like having a cold. For example, when I was in high school and was being bullied, I didn’t have very much energy. Later, after I left the small town I was in for a more diverse place where someone like myself wasn’t faced with constant bigotry, I found myself to become after about 5 years away, pretty cheerful. Sometimes people might just be in the wrong environment. But just in case you’re worried about me, I use a lot of sage at Thanksgiving so I’m pretty sure I’m not a PV.

    • I found it really interesting that you addressed exactly what I bore in mind when I wrote this piece, and it was what I deleted from the final version hoping hoping the reader would come to that conclusion. You really hit the nail on the head! I think I am going to add a few of the points I deleted from the original. I wasn’t sure whether or not delving into a few of those topics would make it more informative or if it would detract from the topic of PV’s. But after your feedback, I do think it might enhance the piece so I will be working on it.

      THANKS! 🙂

      • Oh cool! Can you let me know when you do so I can re-read it?

      • Nathan Campbell says:

        do u really think that psy vamps are reall… if so answer this question for me. There was like this vamp site and i was looking and trying afew of the psychic abilitys like trying to create a energy ball. I think i actually managed to do it and not long after i had and still have a banging headache, are they connected some how????

      • I absolutely believe it, however it’s not something you want to dabble in. There are other good things of the sort you can get into (healing energy and the like) but stealing the energy of others is not a good thing.

  2. Nathan Campbell says:

    so do u think the energy ball and my headache was connected like all the energy like… overpowerd my mind and gave me a huge headache in the process??

    • Sorry, just now saw your comment! But I can’t say for certain. I do believe we sometimes have physical things happen when we are learning to utilise our energy, or Qi, if you will. But I can’t say 100% yes or no on that one.


Leave a Reply

