7 Myths About Big Girls—DEBUNKED!!!

Everyone has all kinds of misconceptions about bigger girls, aka BBW’s. Let’s dispell some myths, shall we? This may not apply to everyone, but neither do the stereotypes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yDSK91mUNLU

1.) Big girls are lazy.
Untrue. I know people who are on the plus side and they are active in every aspect of their lives, from work to exercise. You know those people who are just so nonstop to a point where it makes you feel inadequate? Yeah. They exist in BBW circles, too.

2.) Big girls don’t take care of themselves.
I spoke to someone who couldn’t gain weight, even though she tried. I know some BBW’s who take care of themselves and watch their diets and integrate exercise in their routines. It’s the same thing. Some people are thin no matter what they do and some people can’t lose the weight.

3.) Meat is for men, bones are for dogs.
Or however the saying goes. I get sick and tired of things that promote big girls over skinny girls. I don’t see one as being better over another. To me, saying we’re better merely because we’re bigger is an attempt to lift ourselves up over someone else based on something that warrants no merit on a person. I think we should all stop with the “skinny is better, bigger is better” talk and just consider plus sized women equal to a girl who happens to be thin, and vice versa. I’m not better than anyone else because of my size, but no one is better than me because of theirs.

4.) Big girls eat a lot more than a skinny girl.
There are some days when I’m starving and eat a lot more than necessary, but my skinny friends readily admit to having those days, too. A lot of my own weight is not because I eat too much, but because I forget to eat for hours on end. Then, by 4 or 5 in the afternoon, I am so hungry I have one big meal or a snack of the unhealthiest things you can imagine. The unhealthier my diet, and the less I eat (in terms of 1 meal a day instead of 3 or 5 small ones) the more I gain. I used to take my dinner plate and put on a normal size serving of everything and eat nothing for the rest of the night (dinner at my house was always around 4pm). So I started putting on the same amount, but I would only have half and save the other half for later, usually around two hours later. I lost weight with that alone. I have heard that some people are so self-conscious of their weight they try to hide whenever the eat anything at all, and sometimes people think it’s because they’re sneaking tons of food. Not necessarily the case.

5.) You can’t be bulimic unless you’re skinny.
And wrong again. It depends how much someone eats. I read that people with bulimia, as opposed to anorexia, are sometimes bigger than what you’d expect of someone with an eating disorder. That’s because of the sometimes larger intake of calories and junk. So don’t overlook the signs if you suspect someone has an eating disorder, just because their body type doesn’t fit the bill.

6.) Plus size girls have low self-esteem.
No. Personally I could care less about my size or anyone else’s, and because I’m comfortable with who I am, I don’t think people “see” my weight. There was a time when I felt it “identified” me and when I stopped obsessing over it, it seemed like people stopped fixating on it as well. In fact, there are a lot of people who are bigger and not only are they unapologetic, but they’re confident about their size. Imagine that!!! But it’s true.

7.) BBW’s have low standards on the dating scene and will take whatever they can get.
OK, now this one couldn’t be further from the truth. I don’t go out with people who are disrespectful to me, and I especially wouldn’t put up with it because I don’t think I can get better. If I give my time to someone, they had better be worthy of it (even if it’s a friend, which is why my circle is pretty tight). There are some guys who prefer thin girls and some who prefer bigger girls. Some don’t really care either way. There are BBW’s who prefer a muscular guy, and contrary to popular belief, there are “Guys like THAT” who like “Girls like us.” The number of thin and/or buff guys who are into plus sized girls actually surprised me. And it’s perfectly OK to accept nothing less than what you want and deserve, even if societal “law” dictates a false perception of the unattainable. I myself am happily single. I’ve found that having a steady boyfriend puts a damper on one’s dating life.

It would be nice to see a more well-rounded view on weight. People tend to address the overweight as being unhealth, but neglect the problem of focusing so much on it that so many girls out there are doing unhealthy things to lose it. I think all in all, people should accept themselves—and each other—for who the are, and not their size. I also think it’s important to focus on eating right and exercise whether a person is at their ideal weight or if they have some extra pounds. And even with that in mind, I think it’s also important to accept that not everyone is going to be the same. Not everyone is going to live the same lifestyle. Not everyone is going to be the same size and it’s perfectly OK. Because if we judge everyone’s expected behaviour by how they appear, we’ll never get past any of these unfair stereotypes.

Leave a Reply

